First posted March 1st, 2012 :

Two days ago, my husband made a surprise delivery of budding lilies to our house. I was totally not expecting him, so I was really surprised when he handed me the lilies and said, “Like a lily among thorns is my darling among the maidens.” Song of Solomon 2:2 and then he kissed me. It was amazing! I was shocked and so blessed. Talk about a romantic gesture! After kissing him and kissing him, our daughter said something like, “When I am married, I want my husband to bring me flowers.” Then her daddy said, “When you are older, I will surprise you with flowers, like I surprised Mommy.” Then she said with a shy head tilt, “Could you bring me flowers when I am a little girl, too?” And he nodded and gave her a kiss, after saying, “But not today, because you wouldn’t be surprised.” (Because he knows our girl well.) That little girl is so in love with her daddy. It’s a beautiful thing to watch how much she loves true romance because of watching him romance me and also experiencing being romanced by him. He is so good about making her feel like a precious princess. He takes her on dress up dinner dates and quick Slurpee dates and spends lots of time cuddling with her. They read the Bible together every night – starting on her 5th birthday. They started at the beginning and I heard them talking about King Saul the other day almost a year later. He is such a fabulous teacher. Later that night, our little boy said to his daddy, “Did you bring Mommy some flowers today?” (He, of course, already knew the answer :).) “Yeah, Buddy. When you are married what are you going to do for your wife?” His daddy responded. “I am going to surprise her! I will bring her pretty flowers, too, just like you, Daddy.” He was really proud of his correct answer :)! We were, too! Talking about training our kids at home, training children how to have a marriage that is real and romantic and worthy of time spent, is SO important. Marriage is a representation of Christ and the church: “21 Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ. 22 Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to the Lord. 23 For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. 24 Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything. 25 Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her 26 to make her holy, cleansing[b] her by the washing with water through the word, 27 and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. 28 In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. 29 After all, no one ever hated their own body, but they feed and care for their body, just as Christ does the church— 30 for we are members of his body. 31 “For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh.”[c] 32 This is a profound mystery—but I am talking about Christ and the church. 33 However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.” Ephesians 5:21-33 So, whatever your spouse’s lilies or roses are, be intentional about surprising him or her with them every once in awhile. Do different things for, with, and about him or her. Love him or her well, so your children will know how to be a good spouse and how to find a good spouse! Love, Lily

Follow Up:  Today my husband and I took our daughter on a date to Red Lobster!  It was SO romantic and fun!  We’ve not done something like that in a very long time and it was so wonderful.  You should totally take your little ones on dates!

 

